Breed-specific laws state-by-state

Over 700 U.S. cities have enacted breed-specific laws (BSL). Cities, such as Denver, that reside within a state containing an "anti-BSL clause" have effectively implemented them as well.

Municipalities with BSL

States with constitutionally upheld BSL

Appellate courts in twelve U.S. states, as well as the District of Columbia, have upheld the constitutionality of breed-specific pit bull laws. Learn more in constitutionality.

International BSL

Many foreign countries have enacted breed-specific laws as well, including: Canada, Great Britain, Germany, France, Ireland, Australia, and more. Please see related blog post.